The Mighty Peace

We take pride in all the communities that we call home.


Town of Peace River

The Town of Peace River is located in Northwestern Alberta along the banks of the Peace River Valley. It is the second largest centre in Northwestern Alberta. We host a variety of events that take place throughout the year, as well as numerous other activities; all surrounded by our beautiful and natural valley.


Town of Grimshaw

Situated as Mile Zero on the MacKenzie Highway, Grimshaw’s link to Northern Alberta and the Northwest Territories has developed a healthy trading area. This has allowed for much diversification since the community serves may of the industrial, agricultural and forestry sectors of the regional economy.


Village of Berwyn

Berwyn is nestled within the Peace River Region of Northwestern Alberta. Situated on Highway #2, the Village of Berwyn is only 10km from the Town of Grimshaw and 37km from the Town of Peace River. Berwyn is a quiet bedroom community with a population of 546. It is a picturesque community which attracts both young and old alike.


Town of Fairview

The community of Fairview prides itself in being visually appealing with well kept business, industrial and residential neighborhoods. The pleasing town site is conducive to economic development and the many benefits such development brings. Fairview is a regional center offering a wide range of retail, industrial, institutional and educational services.


Northern Sunrise County

Alberta’s four strongest economic drivers can all be found in Northern Sunrise County. Whether that be oil and gas, forestry, agriculture or tourism, you will find it all here. In addition, they have a number of francophone communities that offer the visitor a chance to experience Canada’s true bilingual nature. Northern Sunrise County sits to the east of the Mighty Peace River.


County of Northern Lights

The County of Northern Lights is situated in an area known as the Peace Country, within Northwestern Alberta. The area contains rolling hills and beautiful valleys of agricultural land, along with several rivers and lakes.

The County is serviced by three towns; Manning as the major service centre, Peace River and Grimshaw located just south of the County’s Boundaries.


MD of Peace

The Municipal District of Peace is a rural municipality located along the north bank of the Peace River, approximately 500 km northwest of Edmonton.

The area was settled early in the 1900’s, with the M.D. incorporated in 1916. The District’s current population (2002) is 1,496 people, which has remained stable over the last several years, and includes the Hamlet of Brownvale.